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NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION

Notice of Hearing for the Adoption and/or Amendment
of
Regulations of the Commission on Peace Officer
Standards and Training

PUBLIC COMMENT HEARING NOTICE: The Commission on Peace Officer Standards and
Training (“Commission”) will be holding a Public Comment Hearing at 8:00 a.m. on Thursday,
October 26, 2023, at the Southpoint Hotel and Casino, 9777 Las Vegas Blvd., S., Napa Room B,
Las Vegas, NV 89183. The purpose of the hearing is to receive comments from all interested persons
regarding the adoption and/or amendment of regulations that pertain to Chapter 289 of the Nevada
Administrative Code (NAC).

The following information is provided pursuant to the requirements of NRS 233B.0603:

. The need for and purpose of the proposed regulations.

Existing law requires the Peace Officer Standards and Training Commission to adopt regulations
establishing minimum standards for the certification and decertification, recruitment, selection and
training of peace officers. (NRS 289.510)

NAC289.200(4)(a) requires an officer to complete the physical fitness exam not later than 16 weeks
after the first day of the officer’s basic academy. This proposed regulation (R006-23) will require the
physical fitness exam to be completed during the academy, removing the 16-week requirement. This
will allow for better conditioning of cadets without the additional pressure of the 16-week deadline,
and will produce better, overall scores with less injuries. This will allow for retention of cadets that
would have otherwise been dismissed as they have more time to get into top physical condition.

For a temporary regulation, the terms, or the substance of the regulation to be adopted, amended
or repealed, or a description of the subjects and issues involved.

This is a permanent regulation.
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3. For a proposed regulation, a statement explaining how to obtain the approved or revised text of
the proposed regulation.

The proposed regulation text may be obtained by going to the Register of Administrative Regulations
for 2023 and clicking the link: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Register/2023Register/R006-23P.pdf, by
contacting Chief Kathy Floyd at kfloyd@post.state.nv.us or by telephone at 775-687-7678, ext. 3335 or
going to the Nevada Commission on POST website at https://post.nv.gov.

4. The estimated economic effect of the regulation on the business which it is to regulate and on the
public. These must be stated separately and, in each case, must include:

(a) Both adverse and beneficial effects; and
(1) Adverse effects: None
(2) Beneficial effects: Retention of cadets/officers that would have been dismissed from the law
enforcement academy due to physical fitness limitations. Less risk of injury to cadets in law
enforcement academy because this allows for more time to be taken with conditioning and
learning the benefits of physical fitness and lifetime fitness.

(b) Both immediate and long-term effects:

(1) The immediate effects: Retention of cadets in the law enforcement academy

(2) The long-term effects: Retention of cadets/officers that would have been dismissed from
the academy because of failure to pass the physical fitness test within the 16 weeks, who, by the
end of the law enforcement academy, can pass the test at certification level because they received
the additional conditioning they needed. There will be less funds spent on new recruiting and
backgrounds because they’ve been able to condition and train cadets throughout the academy,
therefore retaining these officers who previously would have been dismissed.

5. The methods used by the agency in determining the impact on a small business.
The Commission on POST has reviewed the text of the proposed regulations. Because the regulation
amends Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 289, dealing with certification provisions of the annual
continuing education of peace officers, the proposed amendments to NAC Chapter 289 will have no
impact on small business.

6. The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed regulation.
None

7. A description of and citation to any regulations of other states or local governmental agencies
which the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining why the
duplication or overlapping is necessary. If the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates a

federal regulation, the notice must include the name of the regulating federal agency.

The proposed regulation does not overlap or duplicate any regulations of state, local or federal
governmental agency regulating the same activity.
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8.

9.

10.

11.

If the regulation is required pursuant to federal law, a citation and description of the federal law.

The proposed regulation is not required by federal law.

If the regulation includes provisions which are more stringent than a federal regulation that
regulates the same activity, a summary of such provision.

There are no federal regulations that regulate the same activity.
Whether the proposed regulation establishes a new fee or increases an existing fee.
This regulation does not involve or establish fees.

For a temporary regulation, each address at which the text of the regulation may be inspected
and copied.

N/A
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Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (Commission on
POST) may appear at the scheduled public hearing or may address their comments, data, views or arguments, in written form, to Michael
D. Sherlock, Executive Director, Commission on POST, 5587 Wa Pai Shone Avenue, Carson City, Nevada 89701. Written submissions
must be received by the Commission on POST on or before 5:00 pm on October 12, 2023. If no person who is directly affected by
the proposed action appears to request time to make an oral presentation, the Commission on POST may proceed immediately to act upon
any written submissions.

This Notice of Intent to Act Upon Regulations and the proposed regulation will be on file at the State Library, Archives and Public Records
Administrator, 100 Stewart Street, Carson City, Nevada for inspection by members of the public during business hours. Additional copies
of the notice and regulations to be adopted, amended or repealed will be available at the Commission on POST Administrative Offices,
5587 Wai Pai Shone Avenue, Carson City, 89701, State of Nevada Register of Administrative Regulations, which is prepared and published
monthly by the Legislative Counsel Bureau pursuant to NRS 233B.0653, and on the Internet at http://leg.state.nv.us, the POST web site at
http://post.nv.gov and the State of Nevada Department of Administration website at https://notice.nv.gov .

Copies of this notice and the proposed regulation will also be mailed to members of the public at no charge upon request.
Upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested person, either before adoption or within 30 days
thereafter, shall issue a concise statement of the principal reasons for and against its adoption and incorporate therein its reason for

overruling the consideration urged against its adoption.

The Notice of Intent to Act Upon Regulations and the proposed regulation have been sent to all criminal justice agencies on the Commission
on POST Listserv list and posted at the following locations:

Commission on POST Administrative Office
Carson City, NV 89701

http://post.nv.gov

http://notice.nv.gov

http://leg.state.nv.us

NOTE: We are pleased to make reasonable accommodations for members of the public with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting.
If special arrangements for the meeting are necessary, please notify the Commission on POST, in writing, at 5587 Wai Pai Shone
Avenue, Carson City, Nevada 89701, or call Chief Kathy Floyd at (775) 687-7678, Extension 3335, no later than five working days prior
to the meeting.
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SEE ATTACHED COPIES OF THE PROPOSED
REGULATIONS
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FIRST
PARALLEL
SECTION

PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE PEACE OFFICERS’
STANDARDS AND TRAINING COMMISSION
LCB File No. R006-23

July 17, 2023

EXPLANATION — Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [emittedmaterial| is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: § 1, NRS 289.510, as amended by section 7 of Senate Bill No. 225, chapter 422,
Statutes of Nevada 2023, at page 2546, and section 1 of Senate Bill No. 323,
chapter 158, Statutes of Nevada 2023, at page 839.

A REGULATION relating to peace officers; requiring certain peace officers to pass the state
physical fitness examination during basic training; and providing other matters properly
relating thereto.

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:

Existing law requires the Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Commission to adopt
regulations establishing minimum standards for the certification, decertification, recruitment,
selection and training of peace officers. (NRS 289.510, as amended by section 7 of Senate Bill
No. 225, chapter 422, Statutes of Nevada 2023, at page 2546, and section 1 of Senate Bill No.
323, chapter 158, Statutes of Nevada 2023, at page 839)

Existing regulations require, with certain exceptions, a peace officer to pass the state
physical fitness examination not later than 16 weeks after the first day of the officer’s basic
training course. (NAC 289.200) This regulation requires, with certain exceptions, a peace officer
to instead pass the state physical fitness examination during the officer’s basic training course.

Section 1. NAC 289.200 is hereby amended to read as follows:

289.200 1. The Executive Director shall award a basic certificate to any peace officer who
meets the minimum standards for appointment established pursuant to NAC 289.110 and has:

(a) Satisfactorily completed the basic training course for basic certification;

(b) Passed the state certification examination with a score of at least 70 percent; and

(c) Passed the state physical fitness examination for the appropriate category of peace officer

as described in NAC 289.205.

—1--
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R006-23



2. The Executive Director may award a basic certificate to any peace officer who has been
certified by the certifying entity of another state or has successfully completed a Federal Law
Enforcement Training Centers of the United States Department of Homeland Security training
program approved by the Commission and who meets the minimum standards for appointment
established pursuant to NAC 289.110 if:

(a) The Commission or its designee has determined that the course of training required for
the certification was at least equivalent to the basic training course for basic certification;

(b) The certification of the peace officer in the other jurisdiction has not been revoked or
suspended;

(c) Not more than 60 months have lapsed since the peace officer was employed in the other
jurisdiction;

(d) The peace officer has satisfactorily completed a training course that is approved by the
Executive Director which consists of a minimum of 80 hours of training that satisfies the
requirements established by the Commission pursuant to subsection 1 of NAC 289.300 in:

(1) Abuse of older persons;

(2) Child abuse and sexual abuse of a child;

(3) Civil liability;

(4) Classification and receiving of offenders;

(5) Constitutional law;

(6) Counter-terrorism and weapons of mass destruction;
(7) Crimes against persons;

(8) Crimes against property;

(9) Cultural awareness;
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(10) Domestic violence, stalking and aggravated stalking;
(11) Ethics in law enforcement;
(12) Fire safety and use of emergency equipment;
(13) Games offenders play;
(14) Gangs and cults;
(15) Juvenile law;
(16) Laws relating to arrest;
(17) Laws relating to correctional institutions;
(18) Laws relating to drugs, including, without limitation, current trends in drugs;
(19) Miscellaneous crimes;
(20) Modern correctional philosophy;
(21) Probable cause;
(22) Public and media relations;
(23) Records of offenders in institutions;
(24) Rights of victims;
(25) Search and seizure;
(26) Searches of offender institutions;
(27) Supervision of offenders;
(28) Training concerning active assailants; and
(29) Use of force;
(e) The peace officer passes the state certification examination with a score of at least 70

percent; and
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(f) The peace officer passes the state physical fitness examination for the appropriate
category of peace officer as described in NAC 289.205.

3. The Executive Director may award a reserve basic certificate to any reserve officer who
meets the minimum standards for appointment pursuant to NAC 289.110 and has:

(a) Satisfactorily completed the basic training course for a reserve certificate;

(b) Passed the state certification examination with a score of at least 70 percent; and

(c) Passed the state physical fitness examination described in subsection 1 of NAC 289.205.

4. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5 or 6, an officer must pass the state physical
fitness examination:

(a) If'the officer is not eligible for certification pursuant to subsection 2 or for the return of
his or her certificate to active status pursuant to subsection 9, fnetlaterthant6-weeks-atterthe
first-day-ot} during the officer’s basic training course certified or approved pursuant to NAC
289.300; or

(b) If the officer is eligible for certification pursuant to subsection 2 or for the return of his or
her certificate to active status pursuant to subsection 9, not sooner than 30 days before the date
on which the officer was hired and not later than 16 weeks after:

(1) The date on which the officer was hired; or
(2) If the officer is a reserve officer, the date of activation of his or her reserve status.

5. [If astudent enrolled in a basic training course certified or approved pursuant to NAC
289.300 sustains a bona fide physical injury that renders him or her incapable of completing the
requirements of the state physical fitness examination, an agency may submit a request for an
extension of time for the student to complete the examination. The agency shall submit such a

request to the Executive Director. The request must include, without limitation, written
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verification by a physician that the student is incapable of completing the requirements of the
state physical fitness examination. If the Executive Director determines that an extension of time
is warranted, the Executive Director shall authorize an extension of time for a period not to
exceed 12 months after the date on which the student was hired or, if the student is a reserve
officer, the date of activation of his or her reserve status.

6. If an officer passes the state physical fitness examination:

(a) While not enrolled in a basic training course certified or approved pursuant to NAC
289.300; and

(b) More than 16 weeks, but less than 12 months, after the date on which the officer was
hired or, if the officer is a reserve officer, the date of activation of his or her reserve status,
= the employing agency of the officer may submit a request to the Executive Director to waive
the requirements of subsection 4. The request must include, without limitation, the reason the
officer was unable to pass the state physical fitness examination within the periods described in
subsection 4. The Executive Director may, for good cause shown, grant a request submitted
pursuant to this subsection.

7. Upon satisfactory completion of the requirements listed in subsection 1, 2 or 3, the
employing agency shall submit a request for certification to the Executive Director. The request
must include:

(a) The name, social security number and date of hire of the officer or, if the officer is a
reserve officer, the date of activation of his or her reserve status;

(b) Documentary evidence that the officer has successfully completed an approved basic

training course;
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(c) Verification by the administrator of the agency that the officer meets the minimum
standards established by this chapter; and

(d) The statement concerning child support prescribed by the Division of Welfare and
Supportive Services of the Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to NRS 425.520.

8. The basic certificate of an officer whose employment is terminated for any reason will be
placed on inactive status. If such a person is again employed as a full-time peace officer, the
employing agency shall request that the person’s basic certificate be returned to active status.
Except as otherwise provided in subsection 9, if the certification of such a person is on inactive
status for more than 5 consecutive years, the person must renew his or her basic certificate by
successfully completing the requirements set forth in subsection 1.

9. Upon the request of the employing agency, the Executive Director may return the basic
certificate of a category I or category Il peace officer to active status if the peace officer:

(a) Meets the minimum standards for appointment established pursuant to NAC 289.110;

(b) Successfully completes the requirements set forth in paragraphs (d), (e) and (f) of
subsection 2; and

(c) Within 5 consecutive years of his or her termination of employment as a category I or
category Il peace officer, became a full-time employee of the Commission or a full-time law
enforcement officer of a federal law enforcement agency approved by the Commission, and
subsequently, within 5 consecutive years of his or her termination of employment with the
Commission or federal law enforcement agency, as applicable, became employed as a peace
officer in the same category of peace officer as he or she held immediately prior to his or her

employment with the Commission or the federal law enforcement agency.
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10. If a person who successfully completes a basic training course for the purpose of
obtaining a basic certificate is not employed by an agency within 24 months after completing the
course, the person must repeat all of the requirements for basic certification set forth in
subsection 1.

11. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, to satisfactorily complete a basic
training course for the purposes of this section, the person must successfully complete all of the
requirements in one course. If a person is discharged from a basic training course for any reason
that is not disciplinary, the person may complete any remaining requirements in a later course
provided by the same entity if the person has not previously been discharged from a course and
if:

(a) The administrator of the basic training course recommends that the person complete the
requirements in a later course, the administrator of the employing agency of the person requests
that the person be allowed to complete the requirements in a later course and the Executive
Director gives approval;

(b) The subsequent course is provided in a manner which ensures that the person completes
all of the requirements for a basic training course for which the course is certified; and

(c) The subsequent course begins not later than 120 days after the discharge.
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