Course Requirements for POST Certification:
course must be above the level of basic training. Any courses delivering training for subjects
that are included in basic training will not be considered for certification as
course that includes maintenance training will not be considered for
certification as a professional course.
- If a
course offers training in legal issues and subjects relating to legal
liability, the legal adviser of the agency or other provider of training must
approve the course.
subject(s) must be instructed by qualified instructors that are experts in the
within 2 consecutive years, records have not been received by POST that an
officer has completed a course, that course may be inactivated
course and all related documents are subject to audit, monitoring, and/or
courses requesting certification must be primarily for, and a benefit to,
Nevada peace officers
any course given, attendance records and student evaluations must be kept on
file by the training provider for a minimum of 3 years from the date the course
was taken by a peace officer.
If you are a Nevada Law Enforcement agency, or a Nevada Law
Enforcement Agency is sponsoring your course, go to Formatta and fill out the “ProfessionalCourse Certification” form HERE. Be sure to include all items listed under the
If you are an out of state Vendor, you must have your course
certified through NCP (National Certification Program http://iadlest-ncp.org/) before Nevada POST
can certify your course. Once you have a
course number through NCP, go to the Formatta website and fill out the
“Professional Course Certification” form.
Include the Course number you receive from NCP and POST will certify it
for Nevada training. An agency ID number
will be issued to you once your course is certified. You can submit the form without it, just
leave that box blank.
Applications for course certification with all required documents
attached must be submitted 3 weeks (at a minimum) before the course is
scheduled to begin.
Upon review of the course, a rejection notice
or certification notice with the POST course certification number will be sent
to the requester via email.
POST will respond to each course
certification application as soon as possible (usually within 1-3 weeks);
however, the exact time frame in which the requester will receive their email
notice is dependent upon many variables (e.g. subject matter, course material,
POST workload, etc.) POST has 30 days to
For any course given, a certificate of completion that includes
the POST certified course number, Title, Hours and date, must be issued to each individual that successfully completes the
***FOR BASIC TRAINING
COURSE CERTIFICATION, CONTACT THE STANDARDS DIVISION OF POST