General Frequently Asked Questions
How can I become a peace
officer in Nevada?
- Meet the minimum standards of
appointment listed under NAC
- Employed as a peace officer with a
Nevada Law Enforcement Agency
- Graduation from a law enforcement
academy which will include passing a physical fitness test and state
- A basic certificate will be issued
after successful graduation from an academy.
How do I enroll in the POST academy in
Your agency point of contact will guide you through the
process of enrolling in the academy.
Do I have to have a background to be a
peace officer in Nevada? (See NAC
289.110 for details)
Yes, no person may be appointed to perform the duties of a
peace officer unless he/she has undergone a complete and documented
investigation of his/her background. A
full background must be conducted for lateral hires moving between agencies.
have been hired with an agency in Nevada. They are going to make me pass the Physical
Fitness Test. Can they do that?
Yes, an agency can create hiring standards above the POST
minimum standards of appointment.
When does my Basic Certificate expire? (See NAC
5 years (60 months) from the date you left your last
There is no extension or challenge process. Once your basic certificate expires, you will
be required to start the certification process over again if you choose to get
back in to law enforcement in Nevada.
What are my annual
training requirements? (See NAC 289.230
In order to maintain their basic certificate,
the following items must be completed annually:
12 hrs. of continuing education courses that address:
a. Racial profiling
b. Mental health, including, without limitation,
c. The well-being of officers
d. Implicit bias recognition
f. Human trafficking
If authorized to use a firearm, at least biannually demonstrate a minimum level
of proficiency in the use of EACH type of firearm he/she is authorized to use.
If officer is authorized to use an impact weapon, chemical weapon, electronic
incapacitating device or other less lethal weapon, at least annually
demonstrate a minimum level of proficiency in use.
If duties require him/her to use arrest and control tactics, demonstrate
annually a minimum level of proficiency in the use of arrest and control tactics
including, without limitation, techniques related to applying handcuffs, taking
down suspects, self-defense and retention of weapons.
Review Use of Force policy for your agency
I attended an academy as a civilian,
how long is my certificate of completion good for?
Your certificate of completion from
your academy is valid for 2 years.
I am a peace officer
in another state. How can I become certified in Nevada?
I think I am eligible for a
Professional Development certificate.
How can I verify this and how do I apply?
The link to the Professional Certificate Requirement
breakdown is: https://post.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/postnvgov/content/Regulations/Professional%20Requirements.pdf
Your agency point of contact is the only person that can
apply for your professional certificate.
If you do not know who that person is, you can inquire by calling the
Professional Standards Division.
Professional development courses (P# courses) are used to
meet the POST training hours requirements, with very few exceptions. Reach out to the Professional Standards
Division if you have questions on course eligibility.
What if I have
NAC 289/NRS 289 should answer any questions you have.
If you did not find the answer to your question and you need further
assistance, please click the CONTACT US menu item and email us your
detailed question and we will send a reply email back to you as
soon as possible.
I need a copy of my basic certificate; how can
I get that?
Please use the Request for Duplicate form
found under the Forms tab.
do I find POST professional development courses available to me in Northern
The Training Calendar (https://post.nv.gov/Training/Training_Calendar/)
will provide a current list of POST certified training.
The Training Opportunity (https://post.nv.gov/Training/Training_Opportunities/)
page provides training being provided in Nevada, but these courses may not be
POST certified, therefore not eligible for professional development credit.
To enroll in professional development
courses offered by POST you can go to the “FORMS” tab on our website. Scroll
down to “Professional Development Forms” and click on the link entitled
“Professional Development Course Registration Form.” This form contains
an up-to-date list of all scheduled courses currently being offered by POST (https://post.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/postnvgov/20230301_Professional_Development_Course_Registration.pdf).
questions regarding courses and enrollment, contact the Training Division at
can I become a bail enforcement agent?
can I become a private investigator?